Cohabitation – Macedonia

This is a series of posts that records the cases of cohabitation in countries with semi-presidential constitutions. Cohabitation is defined as the situation where the president and prime minister are from different parties and where the president’s party is not represented in the cabinet. Presidents classed as non-party cannot generate any periods of cohabitation.

Here is my list of cohabitations in Macedonia:

Nov 2002 – May 2004
President – Boris Trajkovski (VMRO-DPMNE); PM – Branko Crvenkovski (SDSM/ZMZ): Coalition – SDSM/ZMZ, DUI

Aug 2006 – April 2009
President – Branko Crvenkovski (SDSM/ZMZ); PM – Nikola Gruevski (VMRO-DPMNE); Coalition – Until July 2008 VMRO-DPMNE, DPA, NSDP, DOM; From July 2008-; VMRO-DPMNE, DUI

Source of party affiliations:

Party abbreviations:
VMRO-DPMNE: Vnatresna Makedonska Revolucionerna Organizaija-Demokratska Partija na Makedonsjo Nacionalno Edinstvo (Internal Macedonian Revolutionary Organization-Democratic Party of Macedonian National Unity)
SDSM/ZMZ: Socijaldemokratska Partija na Makedonija (Social Democratic Party of Macedonia)/Za Makedonija Zaedno (Together for Macedonia)
DUI: Bashkimi Demokratik për Integrim/Demokratska Unija za Integracija (Democratic Union for Integration)
DPA: Partia Demokratike Shqiptare/Demokratska Partija na Albancite (Democratic Party of Albanians)
NSDP: Nova Socialdemokratska Partija (New Social-Democrat Party)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *