Finland – New government

Almost two months after the legislative election, Finland has a new government. The leader of the National Coalition Party (Kansallinen Kokoomus – Kok), Jyrki Katainen, is the prime minister-designate.

According to the Finnish Broadcasting Company, YLE, via parlgov, there will be 19 ministers. There will be six ministers for each of the National Coalition Party and the Social Democratic party, two ministers from each of the Left Alliance, the Swedish People’s Party and the Green League and one minister from the Christian Democratic Party. This would give the government the support of 125/200 seats in parliament. The True Finns and the Centre party are the main opposition parties.

The Left Alliance is split on the decision to join the government and YLE reports that two deputies will vote against the government at the investiture vote.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *