Montenegro – Presidential election

In Montenegro, the presidential election was held on Sunday. There were only two candidates. They were the incumbent, Filip Vujanović, of the ruling Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS) and Miodrag Lekić, who headed what is called the Democratic Front coalition, bringing together three opposition parties and other groups. He has a recent background as an ambassador and university professor. He is often classed as an independent.

The opinion polls had all shown that President Vujanović would be easily returned. He was first elected in 2003 and then re-elected in 2008. The 2007 Montenegrin constitution limits the president to two terms. However, because his first election occurred prior to the new constitution, he was deemed eligible to stand for re-election again.

The vote was extremely close and the result was highly contested. Almost immediately after the polls had closed both candidates claimed they had won. There was a delay in the official announcement of the result. However, yesterday the Electoral Commission officially declared that President Vujanović had been re-elected, winning 51.2% of the vote.

The initial OSCE statement has criticised some aspects of the election, but not the count.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *