Togo – Presidential election

The presidential election was held in Togo on 4 March. The election was held by way of a single ballot majority system. This system was always thought to strengthen the chances of the incumbent president, Faure Gnassingbé. The pundits seem to have been right, even though the votes for the opposition were concentrated on one candidate.

Togosite reports that Faure Gnassingbé has won 60.92% of the vote. The main opposition candidate, Jean-Pierre Fabre, won 33.94% and the next candidate, Yawovi Agboyibo, won only 2.96%. There were four other candidates.

The opposition have contested the results. Jean-Pierre Fabre claims that he won 55-60% of the vote. Jeune Afrique reports that on Saturday there was a rally against the result that was broken up by tear gas, during which Fabre and former candidate (and former French minister), Kofi Yamgnane, were slightly wounded. However, contestation does not seem to be general and the international community has not come out against the result.

There is a nice report on the election at The Monkey Cage.

Here are the definitive results announced on 18 March:

Faure Gnassingbé (RPT) : 60,88%
Jean-Pierre Fabre (UFC) : 33,93%
Yawovi Agboyibo (CAR) : 2,95%
Agbéyomé Kodjo (OBUTS) : 0,85%
Brigitte Kafui Adjamagbo-Johnson (CDPA) : 0,65%
Bassabi Kagbara (PDP) : 0,40%
Nicolas Lawson (PRR) : 0,29%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *