Category Archives: Tatarstan


SP in disputed areas and other territories (6) – Tatarstan

Tatarstan is a Republic of the Russian Federation. However, it enjoys a greater degree of autonomy than most other constituent parts of the Federation. In August 1990 the Supreme Soviet of the Tatar Autonomous Soviet Social Republic declared itself to be sovereign. In 1994 a Treaty with the Russian Federation in effect ended immediate any claim to independence. In the meantime, in 1992 a constitution was adopted. As far as I understand it, a new constitution was adopted in 2000.

The 2000 constitution establishes a semi-presidential system. Art. 108 states that the president is directly elected. Art. 117 establishes a cabinet of ministers headed by a prime minister. Art. 118 states that Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Tatarstan shall be responsible to the President and to the State Council of the Republic of Tatarstan. Art. 89 (14) states that the State Council has to endorse the president’s choice of prime minister. This article also states that the State Council solves the question of confidence of the cabinet of ministers. This means that there is collective responsibility.

The president since 1991 has been Mintimer Sharipovich Shaimiev. He has been elected four times. Currently the prime minister is Rustam Nurgaliyevich Minnikhanov. He has been in office since 1998.

Previous posts in this series:

Republika Srpska
Turkish Republic of North Cyprus
Palestinian National Authority