Cohabitation – Mongolia

This is a series of posts that records the cases of cohabitation in countries with semi-presidential constitutions. Cohabitation is defined as the situation where the president and prime minister are from different parties and where the president’s party is not represented in the cabinet. Presidents classed as non-party cannot generate any periods of cohabitation.

Here is my list of cohabitations in Mongolia:

June 1993 – Jul 1996
President – Punsalmaagiyn Ochirbat (MUAN/MNDP); PM – Puntsagiyn Jasray (MAKN/MPRP): Government – MAKN/MPRP

Jun 1997 – Apr 1998
President – Natsagiyn Bagabandi (MAKN/MPRP); PM – Mendsaikhany Enkhsaikhan (MUAN/MNDP); Coalition – MUAN/MNDP and DU (MSDN/MSDP)

Apr 1998 – Dec 1998
President – Natsagiyn Bagabandi (MAKN/MPRP); PM – Tsakhiagiyn Elbegdorj (MUAN/MNDP); Coalition – MUAN/MNDP and DU (MSDN/MSDP)

Dec 1998 – Jul 1999
President – Natsagiyn Bagabandi (MAKN/MPRP); PM – Janlavyn Narantsatsralt (MUAN/MNDP); Coalition – MUAN/MNDP and DU (MSDN/MSDP)

Jul 1999 – Jul 2000
President – Natsagiyn Bagabandi (MAKN/MPRP); PM – Rinchinnyamyn Amarjargal (MUAN/MNDP); Coalition – MUAN/MNDP and DU (MSDN/MSDP)

Source of party affiliations:

Party abbreviations:
DU – Democratic Union (includes the MUAN/MNDP and the MSDN/MSDP
MAKN/MPRP – Mongol Ardyn Khuvisgalt Nam/Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party
MSDN/MSDP – Mongol Sotsial-Demokrat Nam/Mongolian Social Democratic Party
MUAN/MNDP – Mongoliin Undesii Ardcilsan Nam/Mongolian National Democratic Party

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *